Connecticut Restraining/Protective Orders
In Connecticut, Restraining Orders, Protective Orders, and Relief From Abuse Orders are issued by the Courts, and require one party to refrain from contact with another party or parties. The purpose is to restrain the alleged accused party from further harming another party or parties in a criminal and/or civil case. These Orders often arise in the context of criminal and/or civil Domestic Violence case involving family members, household members, former spouses, former partners, or those with whom one has children in common.
What Is Considered Contact?
After an Order is issued by a Court, the other person who is subject to the Order is limited in terms of the contact he or she can have with the other party or parties. A FULL Order means no contact whatsoever. A RESIDENTIAL Order means that the parties can have contact, but cannot live together, such that the person who is subject to the Order cannot be at the residence of the protected parties. And a PARTIAL Order means that the parties can have contact and can live together, but the person subject to the Order cannot be engaged in any violent or threatening conduct towards the protected parties. A Criminal Defense Attorney may advise you, this not only protects the alleged victim from further harm; it can also benefit the person subject to the Order, as no further charges can arise if no further contact or communication occurs while the Order is in effect. To ensure the security of your own future, it is best to refrain from any contact. Even if the circumstances surrounding your case include fabrications on behalf of the accuser, it is best not to try to contact the party involved to try and settle the matter on your own. You will end up making matters worse.
Contact includes but is not limited to:
- Messaging via Social Media
- Messaging through cell phone applications
- Mailing Letters/Fax Transmissions
- Third-Party Contact
Violations of any of these Orders normally constitutes a class D felony in Connecticut, carrying a maximum penalty of 5 years in prison and/or a $5,000 fine, and, under certain specific aggravating circumstances, can constitute a class C felony, which carries a maximum penalty of 10 years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine.
It is important to understand that third-party contact, made at your direction, is still considered a violation of the Order. Should you ask someone to contact the alleged victim by any of the means noted above, it will likely be considered a violation of the Order and can lead to more charges against you. Not only is this means of contact detrimental to your case, but it may also affect the party whom you used as an intermediary to contact the alleged victim in your case.
Get Help With Your Domestic Violence Case and Protective Orders
If you are facing charges of domestic violence and are concerned about how to handle a Protective Order, Restraining Order, or Relief from Abuse Order against you, seek the help and advice of an experienced criminal defense lawyer. Contact J. Christopher Llinas today for assistance.